Media Release: Tom Curtain’s ‘Speak Up’ East Coast Tour

“We have made every effort to ensure the shows are affordable, particularly for families and we have been overwhelmed by the level of support from communities and councils wanting us to come to their towns.”

Tom is a horse and dog trainer and an all-round entertainer and loves to make audiences smile with his family-friendly performances.

“Combining the horses, dogs and music provides a real family-orientated event,” he said.

“There aren’t too many events where all age groups from toddlers through to retirees can enjoy the event. We hope to inspire our guests by sharing our knowledge and experiences in animal training to show how you can achieve great results by building a relationship around trust.”

It’s not all about fun and games, though; the Katherine Golden Guitar winner has a serious message to spread as part of his Speak Up Tour through school visits.

Through his close relationship with the parents of Amy ‘Dolly’ Everett, Tom was inspired to write ‘Speak Up’, following the teenager’s sudden death after being relentlessly bullied. He released the single with fellow Golden Guitar winner, Sara Storer, raising money and awareness for Dolly’s Dream.

The hit song reached No. 1 on the iTunes Country Music Chart. Tom will tour schools and communities as part of his national Speak Up Tour in late 2018/ early 2019 to promote the positive message behind the song and encourage people to speak up against bullying so no other family has to endure the tragedy the Everett family has faced.

Through his work in raising awareness of the effects of bullying, Tom became involved in Dolly’s Dream. The organisation works to raise awareness of bullying and its effects, prevent bullying and to support victims of bullying.

“We have had an amazing response from schools already wanting to be involved,” Tom said.

“I will be sharing my story of growing up in drought on our family farm, and the challenges we have experienced in getting to where we are today, together with the Speak Up message on behalf of Dolly’s Dream. We hope to inspire students that anything is possible with the right mindset and hard work, together with being good people.”

Each show on the tour will include a one-hour outback horse and dog show, followed by an hour of live music from Tom.

Tom and the team will travel 13,500km over three-and-a-half months starting in Queensland, through New South Wales, finishing in Victoria in early March.

The show will feature at the Tamworth Country Music Festival from Monday, January 21 to Friday, January 25 at the former indoor rodeo arena.

As Tom travels through each region, he will be inviting up-and-coming country artists to open the shows. Tom and his working dogs and horses are available for public appearances, so they encourage schools, local markets and other groups to get in contact to make a booking.

Tour dates:

More dates being added weekly:

  • Wednesday December 5:Camooweal, QLD
  • Thursday December 6: Mt Isa, QLD
  • Friday December 7 (Free Event): Julia Creek, QLD
  • Saturday December 8: Hughenden, QLD
  • Sunday December 9: Townsville QLD
  • Wednesday December 11: Nebo, QLD
  • Thursday December 13: Middlemount, QLD
  • Saturday December 15: Bauhinia, QLD
  • Sunday December 16: Monto, QLD
  • Friday January 4: Kumbia, QLD
  • Saturday January 5: Toowoomba, QLD
  • Sunday January 6: Aratula, QLD
  • Thursday January 10: Maclean, NSW
  • Friday January 11: Casino, NSW
  • Saturday January 12: Tenterfield, NSW
  • Sunday January 13: Goondiwindi, QLD
  • Wednesday January 16: Nana Glen (Coffs Harbour), NSW
  • Thursday January 17: Glen Innes, NSW
  • Friday January 18: Guyra, NSW
  • Saturday January 19: Gunnedah, NSW
  • Monday 21 – Friday 25 January: Tamworth Country Music Festival, NSW
  • Wednesday 30 January: Murrurundi, NSW
  • Thursday 31 January: Coonabarabran, NSW
  • Saturday 2 February: Orange, NSW
  • Thursday 7 February: Braidwood, NSW
  • Friday 8 – Saturday 9 February: Nowra Show, NSW
  • Sunday 10 February: Moruya, NSW
  • Friday 15 February: Bairnsdale, VIC
  • Saturday 16 February: Boolarra, VIC
  • Saturday 24 February: Murchison, VIC
  • Wednesday 27 February: Goolgowi, NSW

Click here for further information and tickets. 

Leave a Comment